2000: Awards of Excellence in NPDMilestone 11 2000.JPG

ANPD recognizes excellence in nursing professional development practice. The awards were realigned in 2000 to align with the Nursing Professional Development Scope & Standards of Practice, nursing professional development roles. The current ANPD awards include:

Learning Facilitator - The NPD practitioner uses the educational design process to bridge the knowledge, skills, and/or practice gaps identified through a needs assessment.

Change Agent - The NPD practitioner actively works to transform processes through inspiration, initiation, adoption, and sustainment of and adaption to change using project management and improvement processes at one of the following levels: patient care unit, education department, and organization.

Mentor - The NPD practitioner advances the profession by contributing to the professional development of others and supporting life-long learning as individuals develop across practice, professional and educational settings.

Leader -The NPD practitioner influences the interprofessional practice and learning environments, the NPD specialty, the profession of nursing, and healthcare.

Champion for Scientific Inquiry - The NPD practitioner promotes the generation and dissemination of new knowledge and the use of evidence to advance NPD practice, guide clinical practice, and improve patient care.

Advocate for NPD Specialty - The NPD practitioner actively supports, promotes, and demonstrates nursing professional development as a nursing practice specialty.

Partner for Practice Transitions - The NPD practitioner supports the transition of nurses and other healthcare team members across learning and practice environments, roles, and professional stages.

Click here to view ANPD’s award archives.

Belinda E. Puetz Award for Excellence

The Belinda E. Puetz award honoring excellence in nursing staff development was first awarded in 1994. This excellence is shown through the recipient’s creativity, productivity, exemplary leadership qualities, and efficiency. 

Past recipients of the award include:

1994 - Karen J. Kelly, PhD, RN-C, FAAN
1995 - Cindy Shemansky, MEd, RNC, LNHA, FNGNA
1996 - Sandra Bruce, MSN, RN-BC
1997 - Barbara Brunt, MA, MN, RN-BC, NE-BC, FABC
1998 - Francie Wolgin, MSN, CAN 
1999 - Kathleen J. Fisher, MA, RN, NA
2000 - Michele L. Deck, MEd, BSN, LCCE, FACCE
2001 - JoAnn Grif Alspach, EdD, MSN, FAAN
2003 - Carolyn Diane Byrum, MSN, CCNS, FCCM and Patricia Puckett Bleynat, MSN, RN-C
2004 - No award given
2005 - Myrtle Taylor Williams, MSN, RN-BC, CNAA
2006 - Kari L. Schmidt, MS, RN-BC
2007 - Laura Dornhecker, BSN, MBA, RN-BC
2008 - Mitzi Grey, MEd, RN-BC
2009 - Rebkah Powers, DNP, RN-BC, CMSRN, CSPHA
2010 - Dora Bradley, PhD, RN-BC
2011 - Mary Harper, PhD, RN-BC
2012 - No award given
2013 - Mary Krugman, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN  
2014 - Francine Kingston, DrPH, MSN, RN-BC
2015 - Mandi Walker, MSN, CCRN, RN-BC
2016 - No award given
2017 - Launette Woolforde, EdD, DNP, RN-BC
2018 - Sheila-Golden Baker, MS, RN-BC
2019 - Elizabeth McNulty, MA, RN, OCN

                    Capture 9.JPG Capture 14.JPG

Capture 15.JPG

                    Capture 12.JPG Capture 10.JPG

Above: Throughout the years, ANPD member accept the Belinda E. Puetz Award of Excellence 

Marlene Kramer Award

The Marlene Kramer Award was created in 2016 and is a lifetime achievement award bestowed by the ANPD Board of Directors to recognize an individual who has made significant contributions to nursing professional development.

Past Recipients include:

2016 - Marlene Kramer. PhD, RN, FAAN
2017 - Belinda E. Puetz, PhD, RN
2018 - Bette Case Di Leonardi, PhD, RN-BC

IMG_7203.JPGAbove: Bette Case Di Leonardi accepts the Marlene Kramer award at ANPD's 2018 Annual Convention.